Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Norway geography

The Kingdom of Norway is a Scandinavian unitary constitutional monarchy whose territory comprises the western portion of the Scandinavian Peninsula, Jan Mayen, the Arctic archipelago of Svalbard, and the sub-Antarctic Bouvet Island.
Map of Norway
Photo source: Maps

Norway has a total area of 385.252 square kms and a population of about 5.110.000 people, also known as being the 2nd least densely populated country in Europe.

The country shares:
- land borders with Sweden (the longest uninterrupted border with Scandinavia and Europe), Finland, Russia, Denmark, and the Skagerrak Strait;
- maritime borders with Russia - Barents Sea, Greenland, the Faroe Islands, and Iceland - the Norwegian Sea; and Sweden, Denmark, and the United Kingdom - North Sea.

Its extensive coast line, laced with impressive fjords, facing the North Atlantic Ocean and the Barents Sea, is creating absolutely spectacular landscapes.